Who we are – Exeter Cultural Partnership (ECP)

Who is on the ECP Steering Group? 

The Interim Chair of the Steering Group is Nikki Sved, Artistic Director of Theatre Alibi.  Nikki became Interim Chair in July 2017.

Members who regularly attend include:

  • Laurence Blyth (Marketing Manager, Exeter Cathedral)
  • Stuart Crewes (Creative Director, Art Week Exeter CIC, and Chair, Exeter Visual Arts Forum)
  • Patrick Cunningham (Director, Exeter Phoenix)
  • Camilla Hampshire (Museums Manager & Cultural Lead, RAMM)
  • Jon-Paul Hedge (Strategic Director of Marketing & Communications, Exeter City Council)
  • Brigid Howarth (Senior Impact & Partnership Development Manager, University of Exeter)
  • Paul Jepson (Artistic & Executive Director, Exeter Northcott Theatre)
  • Ceri Johnson (Relationship Manager – Visual Arts, Arts Council England)
  • Michael Krage (Course Leader, Foundation Degree in Graphic Communication, Exeter College, and Krage Design)
  • David Lockwood (Director and Co-founder, Bike Shed Theatre)
  • Emily Macaulay MBE (Exeter Centre Manager, Libraries Unlimited)
  • Stephen Pettet-Smith (Head of Exeter Healthcare Arts)
  • Councillor Rachel Sutton (Deputy Leader of Exeter City Council and Lead for Economy & Culture Portfolio)
  • Julian Tagg (Chairman of Exeter City Football Club)
  • Simon Timms (Former Chair of the South West Committee of the Heritage Lottery Fund; current member of the National Trust South West Advisory Board)

Former members include:

  • the late Councillor Paul Bull (Lead Councillor for Communities & Culture, Exeter City Council)
  • Councillor Rosie Denham (Lead for City Transformation, Energy and Transport, Exeter City Council)
  • Dr Christine Faunch FSA (Head of Heritage Collections, University of Exeter)
  • Victoria Hatfield (Economy & Enterprise Manager, Exeter City Council)
  • Seth Honnor (Artistic Director, Kaleider)
  • Dom Jinks (was the then Head of Arts & Culture, University of Exeter, now Director of Plymouth Culture); Dom was Chair of ECP 2012-14
  • Joanne Launder (Head of Service Delivery, Libraries Unlimited)
  • Jay Milling (active member of Exeter’s business community, owner of Speedy Freight Exeter); Jay was Chair of ECP 2014-17

Other colleagues attend meetings occasionally, depending on the priorities or the agenda. The ECP Steering Group meets quarterly.  Through an agreement between partner organisations, Martin Thomas was appointed Exeter Cultural Partnership’s first Culture Director in a fixed-term role for the period 2015-17.